Bedside Caddy

Yuk. It was faded into a particularly putrid shade but the towel was still thick and serviceable. So I figured out a way to hide it: Under the bed!

Bedside caddies provide a place to store things within easy reach when you’re lounging in bed. The internet crawls with patterns and ideas and I browsed quite a few before coming up with the right design for my needs, which incorporated the old pink towel as the part that goes under the bed. I measured my favorite magazine and made the big flat pocket that size. I usually have pins and barrettes to pull out of my hair so I made a small elasticized pocket to hold them. I also like to have a pad of paper and a pen to document brilliant nightime inspirations so I placed a smaller flat pocket under the elasticized one for that purpose.

I used really cheap yardage in three  complementary designs that pulled in the earthtones of our bedroom and added a pink plaid element that I was drawn to. Since the fabric was flimsy, I lined ironed on Pellon medium weight interfacing to most of the pieces before I started.Craft as Therapy 001

Make one yourself and send me a picture! I’d love to know someone else was inspired.Craft as Therapy 002

Leave a Reply

